Matthias G. Wacker is Associate Professor in the Department of Pharmacy of the National University of Singapore (NUS). Initially, he studied Pharmacy at Goethe University in Frankfurt (Germany) where he obtained his doctoral degree in pharmaceutical technology. As a post-doc and group leader he has joined Jennifer Dressman and Jörg Kreuter in the Institute of Pharmaceutical Technology, Goethe University. There he accomplished his habilitation (post-doctoral degree) exploring the ‘Rational Formulation Design of Nanocarrier Devices’ and was awarded the venia legendi in pharmaceutical technology. Prior to joining NUS, he was heading the Department of Pharmaceutical Technology and Nanosciences of the Fraunhofer-Institute for Molecular Biology and Applied Ecology in Frankfurt led by Gerd Geisslinger. Currently, he serves the European Journal of Pharmaceutics and Biopharmaceutics and the Journal of Pharmacy and Pharmacology of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society as an editorial board member. Further, he was editing selected issues for the Beilstein Journal of Nanotechnology and is a scientific advisor to the editors of the Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences.

In recognition of his research excellence, he was honored with the Eudragit® Best Paper Award (2014) and the Phoenix Pharmaceutics Science Award (2017). From 2020-2025, he is member of expert panel on New Advancements in In-Vitro Performance Testing of the United States Pharmacopeia.


Dr. Harshvardhan Modh

Research fellow
National University of Singapore / Building S16 L8
Pharmacy Research Laboratories
Email: phahbm [a] .sg

Elena Fecioru

External PhD student (PHAST-Eurofins)
Mail: fecioru [a] em.uni-frankfurt .de

Marc-Phillip Mast

Pharmacist, PhD student
Goethe University / Building N-230, lab 2.07
Phone: +49 – 69 – 798 – 29682
Mail: mast [a]

Shakti Nagpal

M.Pharma, PhD student
National University of Singapore / Building, S16 L8
Pharmacy Research Laboratories

Chantal Wallenwein

Pharmacist, PhD student
Goethe University / Building N-230, lab 2.07
Phone: +49 – 69 – 798 – 29682
Mail: wallenwein [a]


Dr. Susanne Beyer
Dr. Christine Janas
Dr. Lisa Nothnagel

Fabian Jung (All but dissertation)

Fiona Gao (All but dissertation)

Laura Jablonka (All but dissertation)